Windows FAQ

You can find answers to some of the most frequently asked questions for Windows below.

How do I upload files?

There are two ways to upload files to Jumpshare; select the files you want to upload and drag & drop them on to the Jumpshare icon in the system tray. Alternatively, you can right-click a file or folder and select 'Share with Jumpshare' option from the context menu.

When you upload a single file, you will be able to preview from the Jumpshare system tray window. When you upload multiple files, a folder is created automatically which is named based on the number and type of files uploaded. To preview files inside a folder, hover the mouse cursor over that folder.

How do I share files?

There are two ways to share files - link or email. By default, when you drop files to the Jumpshare system tray icon, a link is copied to clipboard. If you hold down ‘Alt’ key and drop files to the system tray icon, a Share box will open which you can use to send files to the recipients via email directly. Alternatively, you can also select the files that you want to share and use default shortcut keys, Ctrl+Alt+C or Ctrl+Alt+S, which will upload files and then copy link to clipboard or share via email, respectively.

Can I upload files to an existing folder?

Open the Jumpshare window and click the folder you want to add more files to. The Jumpshare app will launch your default browser and open the folder. Once the folder opens, drop files on to the page to add them to the folder.

How can I upload files using direct URLs?

The Bookmark tool allows you to upload files you find online. It is not just for saving webpages for later. Tap on the bookmark icon from the Jumpshare app, and paste the direct URL to the file to upload it.

How can I upload links?

By using the Bookmark option. Click on the bookmark icon in the Jumpshare app, paste the link to upload it to Jumpshare.

Can I change the default share method so that the Share box opens instead of a link being copied?

Yes. Right-click the Jumpshare icon in system tray and select Preferences. Once inside Preferences, you will find the option to change the Primary action under General tab. The Primary action is the default share method. You can choose to set 'Copy link to clipboard' or 'Share via email' as the Primary action. Changing the Primary action will also change the Secondary action. The Secondary action is the action the Jumpshare app performs when you hold down the ‘Alt’ key when you drop files to it.

How can I change the shortcut keys?

Right-click the Jumpshare icon in the system tray and select Preferences. In Preferences window, select the Shortcuts tab and you will find the shortcut keys for the following actions:

  • Upload from Clipboard (Ctrl+Alt+U)
  • Jumpshare hotkey (Ctrl + Alt + J)
  • Upload & copy link (Ctrl + Alt + C)
  • Take & edit screenshot (Alt + Shift + 1)
  • Record screen (Alt + Shift + 2)
  • Compose note (Alt + Shift + 3)
  • Record voice clip (Alt + Shift + 4)

To change these shortcut keys, click on any hotkey that you want to change and enter a new combination.

Can I share the files I last uploaded from my desktop?

Click the Jumpshare icon in the system tray and a small window will open showing the last 20 uploads. Hover the mouse cursor over any one of them and you will see three buttons - Copy Link, Share, and More. Click the Copy Link button to copy a link to your clipboard or click the Share button to open the share box.

How do I change where files are uploaded in My Uploads?

By default, all screenshots, screencasts, voice clips, notes and links shared from the desktop app go to the ‘Desktop Uploads’ folder, while files and folders go straight to My Uploads. This ensures your web dashboard remains clean and organized.

You can change this option from the the More tab in Preferences, so that everything goes to My Uploads. You can access it by clicking on the cogwheel icon in the app.

What are Favorites for?

Denoted by a star icon in the Windows app, the Favorites tab hosts all of your most important items so you can access them faster.

How do I mark an item as a ‘favorite’?

To add files to Favorites, right-click on a item and use the ‘favorite’ option. You can use the same process to ‘unfavorite’ an item.

How can I share screenshots?

The app integrates with the system’s default screenshot actions. When you use Windows default screenshot capture hotkey, Print Screen, the screenshot is automatically uploaded to Jumpshare with the link copied to your clipboard, ready to be shared instantly. The screenshot feature works seamlessly and requires no setup from the user.

Alternatively, if you want to capture a custom screenshot, use the ‘Take & edit screenshot’ keyboard shortcut Alt + Shift + 1.

Can I disable the screenshot sharing feature?

Yes. Head over to Preferences and disable the checkbox next to the Screenshot option that says ‘Auto-upload screenshots on Print Screen’.

How do I annotate images that aren’t new screenshots?

Right-click on any image, and click on ‘Annotate with Jumpshare’.

How do I record my screen?

You can record your screen by clicking on the video camera icon in the Jumpshare app, near the row of tools at the top. You can alternatively use the record screen shortcut Alt + Shift + 2 to record a screencast faster.

How can I share notes?

Jumpshare for Windows allows you to quickly share notes in the form of plain text, Markdown, or code.

Open the app, and click on the Note button to begin composing a note. You can select the note type from the drop-down menu in the bottom-left corner. Click ‘Upload’ to share it.

You can do this faster by using the Compose note shortcut i.e. Alt + Shift + 3.

How do I record a voice clip?

It’s easy! You can use the Alt + Shift + 4 keyboard shortcut to being recording a voice clip immediately, or you can click on the microphone icon in the Jumpshare app near the top.

How can I view uploaded files?

First, open the Jumpshare app showing the last 20 uploads, then click on any one of them that you want to view and it will open instantly in your default browser.

Can I rename the file or folder?

Yes. Right-click any file or folder and select rename. Enter a new name and hit 'Enter' to save the name.

Do people with whom I share files need to sign up or install the app?

No, others do not need to sign up with Jumpshare. You can share files with anyone as long as they have internet access. They can preview them online, or download them right away.

What is the time zone for and how do I change it?

When you schedule a share, it’s scheduled according to your time zone. Similarly, when you set your file to self-destruct, it is deleted according to your local time, hence the need to set the correct time zone. The time zone is automatically detected when you first install the app, however it can be changed from the Settings page in the web app.

I’m on an older version of Windows. Can I still use the app?

Jumpshare for Windows works on Windows 7 and above. If you’re on Windows Vista or earlier, you will need to upgrade your Windows to use the Jumpshare app.

How do I uninstall Jumpshare for Windows?

Uninstalling Jumpshare for Windows is just like any other Windows app. Launch the Control Panel, and click ‘Uninstall a program’ from under Programs. Now right-click on Jumpshare, and click ‘Uninstall’.

Can I deploy Jumpshare for Windows on a network of computers?

Yes, Jumpshare for Windows version 2.0.3 and later support unattended installs on networked Windows PCs.

I found a bug, what do I do?

Great! We would like to hear from you. Drop us a line at

Still have questions?

Email Us